This Summer Don’t Forget to Live a Little

flipflopway of lifeReaching for a box of snack crackers at the supermarket earlier today, I said to a lady, “I’m so addicted to these”. She replied with the all too common response; “I know, I’m so bad.”

Really? Bad because you like to munch on the odd complex carb now and then?

Let it go. Seriously, let all of that shit go.

On the weekend, a teenage girl and middle-aged man were marvelling at the wonders of technology that supposedly measures our health; calories, steps, sleep, heart rate. What on earth are people thinking?

Sure, I need to drop some weight, I’m trying to eat a more plant-based diet, and move my body, but I refuse to feel like I’m punishing myself.

Our anxiety levels about productivity are higher than ever. Our obsession with our bodies does not come from a place of love or acceptance, and it seems that the majority of people walk around forgetting something very, very important -We only get one ride on this planet.

Food, sunshine, water and air are all things to be enjoyed and savoured. Freindships and lovers and muses are  relationships to be revelled in. These have a finite measure, and really shouldn’t be  meted out according to some fucked up standard of what’s right and considered acceptable by the folks who control our media and have a vested interest in keeping us all just a little bit miserable so we buy (literally) into the system.

Our bodies and souls need time to rest, rejuvenate, and yes, even rejoice.

I am barefoot on my patio as I write this, drinking a beer, and listening to birdsong.

My wish for you this summer is warm sunshine, cold beverages, sandy beaches, bare feet, and enough love to make you feel like life is worth living.

 

Leave a Reply

