Saturday Life Quiz – Phone a Friend

friendsMy Mumster gave me a great piece of advice years ago. It was that our girlfriends keep us afloat when the rest of the world seems to have given up on us. I now know this to be true.

It’s Saturday. A day when I should be sleeping in, taking in the weekend edition of the Globe with a few cups of coffee before making breakfast and getting on with a day that should surely involve at least one good gab session with a gal-pal.

Alas, I am not. I am working the dreaded weekend shift.

For the past few weeks I’ve had what I’d like to call an abundance of emotion. This is not like me. Usually I’m pretty easy going and laugh at everything. The world is a crazy place after all, and I bear witness to the sacred preciousness of life every day.

Usually a good girl talk and a gin and tonic make the world as right as rain.

But lately, I’ve been feeling less than fabulous. Turns out I’ve got a common health concern that has caused this emotional abundance, and I’m not a crazy old cow.

My gal-pals know all about this. They’ve been there too, or close to there. Close enough they know the emotional weather pattern, let’s just put it that way.

Gal-pals understand our health concerns, our man issues, parenting, and what it means to balance all of that with a career. They can relate to insecurities, frustration, joy and anger. Best of all, they usually shine a light on all of the wonderful qualities that we don’t give ourselves enough credit for.

So, if you have a few moments you can spare today, be sure to reach out to your friends. Lack of contact usually means that you are both busy, not that the other one doesn’t want to know how you’re doing.

Enjoy every minute with them.

 

 

Leave a Reply

