Spring Road Tripping; Spotting the Elusive Adult Smile

flapperI’ve been  mulling some things over in my mind for a few days (and really, I’m just too pretty to have to think that hard), so I decided to call a pal for a little perspective.

Said pal has been slogging through the dark and mysterious land of the Bad-Relationshipdom for quite some time. When I got to thinking of it, it wasn’t only her that seems to be trapped in some-such-miserable-sexless-relationship-conundrum.

How long,” I thought to myself, ” has it been since I heard my friends really laugh?”

Much too long.

The gal-pal I called today is one of my closest friends (we can talk about anything without shame), I’ve been really worried about her. Somewhere along the way someone stole her chutzpah, and she was so worn out, I thought she’d never really get it back.

But today she picked up the phone, excited about a recent connection a-la-bad-boy, whom, according a few of our mutual friends, must meet me. The female equivalent of his badassery of course.

What was wonderful about the conversation was that she laughed. I could hear the joie de vivre in her voice again, and I knew that she had not been completely eaten up by the chasm of misery known as a bad, relationship.

Later on I received a text from another pal who recently packed up and moved in with the love of his life. They extended an invitation to visit, and sent along some pretty appealing photos of a pub next-door to their new digs, which boasted a pretty damn tempting whiskey collection. He was exhausted from the work of moving….but happy. I pictured them snuggled up at the bar, cozy in one another’s arms, and smiling.

Another pal who has witnessed many of my libertarian nights turn into hung-over mornings sent a quick text saying he was in town and going to pop by work.

As a wild-child turned adult, I often feel that I miss the shenanigans I once was so famous for. I miss hearing the joy, excitement and silliness in my friend’s voices as they talk about their lives.

Today their joy was mine, and I knew that as sure as spring is around the corner, so are a few road trips. It’s time to hit the road and make some memories.

 

One thought on “Spring Road Tripping; Spotting the Elusive Adult Smile

  1. Pingback: Nice Luggage, Let Me Burn It For You | andshelaughs

Leave a Reply

