To-Do Lists; Faking it ‘Til You Make It

autumtodoBalance is hard to maintain.

I’ve tried pilates balls, running, meditation, hard work and hard partying.

Last night an old pal asked me what was on my Fall To-Do List. After I told him, it felt kind of mediocre. A little pathetic even. They were simple, fun things, with nothing that really deserved a blue ribbon or a mug shot on a trade magazine.

But those simple things do matter.  It’s the little things that string together moments which define a life.

Wandering off the beaten path at the McMichael gallery last week, a dear pal and I talked about the year we’ve had. When I discussed my summer and autumn to-do lists, his remark was a chuckle, “It’s like faking it ’til you make it“. And he was right.

Hardworking, intelligent, emotionally capable folks, (like moi) tend to be good at isolating themselves when they feel vulnerable. I have learned through experience just how important it is to call out for a lifeline and grab hold.

My friends have answered that call as best they can, given their own chaos and capabilities.

A relatively new pal suited up at the last-minute and humoured my desire to participate in Nuit Blanche. Others have shared coffee, baseball games, girl talks and gone shopping with me ( I hate shopping).

My seasonal to-do lists may seem forced, but so far so good. Each day my heart mends a bit more. 

 So far each item on my simple lists have provided me with connection to other wonderful human beings, and that my darlings, is what life is all about.

Leave a Reply

