She Just Does It: A Message for the Over-Functioning Souls 

   Some douchebag-ultra-hip-Acura driving dink just slammed the hell out of the back of my car. 

Normally I’d get out and in my most sweet and condescending voice would ask if he required any assistance. But not today.

Today I declined the invitation to defend myself or my property. 

You see darlings every once in a while the stone-woman cracks. Today has been one of those days. 

Despite a nauseating migraine that brought tears to my eyes, I carried on through the day doing what needs to be done. 

When asked about how I handle crisis situations, one of my past colleagues replied, “She picks up the gauntlet and gets it done. That’s just the way she is.” It’s so true.

But not necessarily the, you-go-girl attitude that is healthy.  

Even the strongest among us needs a shoulder to cry on, to be carried for a little while, nurtured and loved.

If you, like me, have been strong too long, give yourself permission to withdraw, and rejuvenate yourself. 

If you know someone like us stone-ladies, remember that we have hearts that break too, likely even more than yours.

The reason we’re strong is because we’ve already survived the worst life has to offer.

Leave a Reply

