Boring Buddhist vs. Ballsy Buddhist; You decide

lotusmudAs many of you know, I’m a lover, philosopher, meditator, opinion-giver and writer.

I try to live by Buddhist philosophy, and also, when that doesn’t suit me, by the seat of my very well-tailored pants.

Lately I’ve been depressed, anxious, restless, and chiding myself for feeling this way, until I re-read part of an article about the virtues of boredom;

…Later on, in the bathroom picking up dingy wet towels, I notice the mildew creeping up the bottom of the shower curtain. This is not the life of precious tributes. It’s one you want to throw out. And many of us do. We replace people, places, and things that have grown charmless and tiresome – which they always do. Fascination fades and restlessness stirs.

Chasing the picture perfect, we can lose what we have in abundance – the times that teach us even more than the rare delight of butterflies or a robin’s blue eggs. We lose the hours, the days, and the decades when nothing much seems to happen at all. Time freezes. Paint dries. Mildew spreads. We’re bored out of our minds.

Boredom is the unappreciated path to patience, peace, and intimacy, so who would read a paean to it? Let that be your koan.

Booooring… by Karen Maezen Miller Shambabhala Sun, September 2012, p19.

Upon first reading, it makes sense, but then you think of attachment, and wonder what the virture is in remaining attached to people, places or things that may have already taught you what you need to learn from them.

What if this is just a platitude to keep us all little cogs in what really is a materialistic, capitalistic driven lifestyle in the west?

Hmmm?  Have a think darlings, but I know what my plan is for the next few years. It’s not about sticking with the charmless, or discarding it.

It’s about appreciating what I’ve learned and moving on to a more rich and full life, with new experiences. That doesn’t make me a bad Buddhist, that just makes me brave.

7 thoughts on “Boring Buddhist vs. Ballsy Buddhist; You decide

  1. I always live with the philosophy that when someone leaves or something ends that it has served it’s purpose in my life and I need to move on. For new things I practice listening to the urges and thoughts and pursue things that at times makes no sense at all and often, the meaning is revealed to me. Not always but most of the time. For example I was being called for months to go to the church I am now a member of and thought I would go to sing in the choir. Now I am hoping to pursue an education to become a Licensed Lay Worship Leader. Who knew??? I love this church and the people in it. It has given my life a new lease and I have found what I once lacked. No attachments. It is hard but it makes sense to me. It is really the only way I can make sense of what has happened in my life and what has not. Just some thoughts. W xo

    Date: Tue, 24 Mar 2015 12:55:59 +0000 To: wjmay@sympatico.ca

  2. I always like to ‘move forward’. Or i like the thought i move forward, but on the other hand. A friend just a couple of days ago has descriped my character as ‘someone who is really attached’. And its true, but i don’t think it is contradictive because: i am very attached at an previouse school of mine (where i was a student), two schools later i am now studying how to become a history teacher and i am stil longing – although i still want to move forward and go to university to learn more about psychology – for my previouse school and when i have my internship there i would habe to fight my childish sparkeling eyes and my fangirl laughter. To conclude: stay at the old or go with the flow of something new is neither good or bad i believe. It is what makes you happy what it worth Doing at that moment.

  3. Reblogged this on Kim is thinking out loud and commented:
    I always like to ‘move forward’. Or i like the thought i move forward, but on the other hand. A friend just a couple of days ago has descriped my character as ‘someone who is really attached’. And its true, but i don’t think it is contradictive because: i am very attached at an previouse school of mine (where i was a student), two schools later i am now studying how to become a history teacher and i am stil longing – although i still want to move forward and go to university to learn more about psychology – for my previouse school and when i have my internship there i would habe to fight my childish sparkeling eyes and my fangirl laughter. To conclude: stay at the old or go with the flow of something new is neither good or bad i believe. It is what makes you happy what it worth Doing at that moment.

  4. There is no one thing “vs.” the other thing except in the judging mind. Look around you: where is the struggle? There is is only what is, and it is changing all the time. Absolutely nothing is denied to you when you live without a philosophy, except perhaps a struggle.

Leave a Reply

