Mmmm! Something smells good!

"Cooking is like love. It should be entered into with abandon or not at all"

“Cooking is like love. It should be entered into without abandon or not at all”

My relationship with food has been a grand love affair. Much like the one I have with men, I have a wide variety of tastes, and have over-indulged from time to time.

Cooking has always been about comfort, showing love, and making someone feel at home.

I love to be the cook for traditional get-togethers. There’s no greater contentment than sitting around a table with people you love and enjoying all of the dishes that have come to define the holidays.  Well, sitting around the crackling fireplace finishing off the last of the bubbly is pretty darn good too, but that’s for another post and another day.

Cooking for a man has always been special for me, but then again, I get excited about everything. Now, let’s be clear darlings, I’m not talking about throwing something together quickly to help wash down the vino like mussels or a charcuterie plate.  What I’m talking about is being excited to see someone, and wanting to prepare something special for them.

It’s thinking about the recipe, making the special trips to the grocer, liquor store and picking up the bits and bobs that will make the evening special. Maybe it’s his favourite tipple, movie, or planning something fun for after dinner, even if it’s just a walk around the lake to look at the Christmas lights, or perhaps something that requires far fewer layers.

So, after I perform my bed-time routine of switching off the lights and tripping over Mr. Willie Nelson the cat, I will curl up under my snuggly duvet with my cookbooks and start planning.

Oooh! I’m sooo excited! Maybe, just maybe I should consider keeping one of these fellas someday….

Leave a Reply

