How to Enjoy a Long Weekend

victoria-day-278x300As it’s Wednesday, and it’s been a hell of a long month this week, I have allowed myself not-so-present-moment indulgence of looking forward with eager anticipation to the weekend.

In Canada, the May long weekend is  fondly nicknamed ‘May Two-Four’, not for Queen Victoria whom the holiday was created to celebrate, but for the stereotypical Canadian love of beer in cases of…you got it – 24 bottles.

Regardless of what you may read in the above link, there is no real celebration of Queen Victoria. Nope. Nothing. Even the fireworks are background to the unofficial shenanigans that kick off summer in the Great White North.

For teenagers and twenty-somethings, the weekend involves as much time spent outdoors as possible, with as much alcohol consumed as possible, with as many friends as possible. Perhaps a smattering of I-shoulda-known-better-sexual-liaisons thrown in for good measure as well.

If you’re past the age where your body forgives you for spending three nights out in a damp, cold, and sometimes wet, tent, the weekend may take on a different tone.

Alas, it’s only Wednesday. We have a full two days of weekdays to get through before we strip off  our work-a-day girdle and bras and let our hair down.

In the past, when life has gotten me down, dragged me around by the hair, and kicked me in the soft spot, I’ve curled up and worried my days away.

Life has gotten me down lately. It’s dragged me around by the hair, and indeed kicked me in the soft spot a couple of good ones, but I’m choosing to balance the fear with delight, dread with grateful anticipation, and my desire to jump off a cliff with time spent with my favourite people (whether it’s actual time, emails, or telephone calls).  It’s a hard thing not to give in to fear.

However, it’s the kick-off to summer darlings, and although my life is far from easy, I don’t want to stop making memories, or let my spirit wither away inside of me like a neglected violet.

So, I will allow myself some at-home pampering, daydreaming, and the absolute luxury of fantasizing about some well deserved sensuality. Good food. Good wine. Good people…..

….inside where it’s warm, with a lovely view of the lake and the trees…..

My body doesn’t forgive me so easily for nights spent outside in a damp sleeping bag under the stars. On no-alarm-clock-days, it does forgive a tipple-too-much of bourbon, and late nights with deliciously satisfying men.

So, if you’re having a hard time, don’t forget that there is life worth living, people worth spending time with, and it’s ok to be kind to yourself.

You’re absolutely fabulous my sweet bundle of energy. Don’t ever forget it.  Go ahead, plan something wildly decadent for this long-weekend.

My friend Ms. Teri M gave me one of the best pieces of advice ever, “Go make your memories now.”

Because now is, indeed, all that we have.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

