Christmas in the Kitchen: Holiday Butterscotch Marshmallow Squares

English: Marshmallows

English: Marshmallows (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’ve done it!

I have my stock of the elusive-once-a-year coloured marshmallows tucked safely away  until I start my Christmas baking.

That’s right, this year I will not be out-shopped by other kitchen goddesses more organized than I!

This is a classic southern-Ontario Christmas treat. Christmas is the only time of year when the shelves are bare in the place where coloured marshmallows reside, so I suggest holding up your local grocer tomorrow for a couple of bags.

Butterscotch Marshmallow Squares

Ingredients

1/4 cup butter

1 large cup butterscotch chips

1 cup peanut butter

1 bag elusive coloured marshmallows

Method

Melt margarine and chips in pan and add peanut butter.

Remove from heat and cool slightly bvefore adding marshmallows

Mix thoroughly and pat into a greased pan and chill until firm.

***rub a small pat of butter on your palms before patting into the pan to chill***

2 thoughts on “Christmas in the Kitchen: Holiday Butterscotch Marshmallow Squares

Leave a Reply

