Christmas Shopping in Perspective

Some children looking at a selection of Christ...

Some children looking at a selection of Christmas Cards during the 1910 holiday season. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

When I proudly posted that I had finished all of my Christmas shopping on my Facebook page, I was surprised at the response.

Expectation is a funny beast. I expected folks to say things like, “Wow, that’s great.”, or “Now you can just relax and enjoy the season.”

But oh no. Expectation once again reared its ugly head and bit my ego in the buns.

Instead, their (you know, the universal ‘they‘) feedback was all up in my delightfully sweet and innocent face, “You should focus on the REAL meaning of the season.”, and other such very religiously correct poo-ha.

The reason that I have finished my Christmas shopping my darlings, is precisely for those reasons. But did they  assume the best? Oh no they did not.

It was as if  they thought  I have some hidden bunker of materialistic dazzling gifts and  that I drip showy gifts every where that’s blessed with my presence as I hover just an inch or so off of the mundane ground.

Sorry to disappoint you all, but I buy very few gifts, and the gifts that I do buy, I buy because I see Christmas as an opportunity.

It’s an opportunity to slow down and it’s an opportunity to express gratitude to the people who make life wonderful every day of the year.

It is a time to remember joy, hope, generosity, love and peace. I’ve heard multitudes of people sneer and say that if people can’t be like that all year, don’t be a hypocrite and celebrate Christmas. I disagree. Yes, it’s the least we can do to stop and extend charity to those less fortunate during this season, but it’s better than the alternative; an entire society void of any sense of community, charity and affinity with one another.

It’s the ONLY time of year that people take time to reconnect. I spend far more time and money on food and entertaining than I do on actual gifts. Presence is presents. I have turfed many a man because he couldn’t be bothered to be around for the holidays. Pish-posh – no woman should put up with that.

Give me an hour or two of quality time throughout the season, and I’m thrilled, delighted, and yes, it makes me feel special; friend, lover, colleague or family.

So, I do have my holiday shopping complete. I finish it up early in November so that I can focus on spending time with  and welcoming my friends into my home for the holidays.

My idea of Christmas is not dueling on the highways to merge into mall parking lots attended by security and police. It is not getting elbowed by greedy ‘princesses’ who just have to have the latest bag, shoe or trinket and feel entitled to better service, better prices and better selection than everyone else.

From now until the new year, I will be holed up in my little abode, cooking and baking in my kitchen. Having tea by the fireplace with my girlfriends, and perhaps a snog or two under the mistletoe.

Don’t let the pressure of the biggest advertising season of the year get you down. The people who really care are the ones who are just happy to spend some time with you. And let’s face it darlings, those are the only people who really matter.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Christmas Shopping in Perspective

  1. As much as I’m not a big fan of sayings like “presence makes presents,” it is true. This year I have done most of my Christmas shopping online, something I used to think was cold, sterile. But this year, it is nice to get it done early and avoid the crazy malls. I too would much rather sit with a friend and have an egg nog latte (or egg snog latte?) or go and see Christmas lights rather than go crazy with last minute gift-purchasing. Love ya!

Leave a Reply

