10 Things I Learned Today

"Do not go where the path may lead, go instead where there is no path and leave a trail." ~Ralph Waldo Emerson~

“Do not go where the path may lead, go instead where there is no path and leave a trail.”
~Ralph Waldo Emerson~

Ok, maybe I didn’t just learn these things, but they  crystalized for me.

Whether it was during my morning read of the Globe and Mail, a chat with a friend, or quiet time reflecting on life in general with a glass of wine and a favourite soundtrack playing in the background, I realized that I must share these nuggets of wisdom with you, my sassy readers.

1) Teenage boys will always come home when they’re hungry (in adult time, that translates to approximately every two hours)

2) You cannot have it all. You can be excellent at only one thing at a time. I just so happen to be an excellent mom, business woman and writer at different times during the day.

3) Good things do not come to those who wait. Good things come to those who consistently work hard and don’t let failure or rejection get them down.

4) Being the perfect size, saying the perfect things, doing things in a conventional way are not priorities of mine, and I have an awesome life because of that. Go ahead, Zen-out.

5) Wine and fudge do go together.

6) Clutter makes me crazy.

7) It really doesn’t matter what anyone else thinks. Now, I’m not going to work in my writing duds with a glass of cheap hooch clutched in my hands my pretty petunias, but slight imperfections really just don’t matter when you’re being authentic.

8) We all procrastinate when it comes to the really, really important stuff.

9) You can spend too much time alone, and it’s always nice to have friends drop by for a visit and a glass of wine, mug of coffee, cup of tea, walk around the lake, chick flick or general chin wag.

10)  Freedom from fear creates success.

Leave a Reply

