Proud to Be Canadian

English: Canadian Flag

English: Canadian Flag (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

This week I have been very distraught darlings, very distraught. It’s enough to change a girl’s complexion and drive her to drink. My, my, my!

What on earth could upset a cool, calm, collected, well-spoken woman like me? Well, darlings, it’s all this nonsense about our Canadian criminal code not being a holy book, restauranteurs tweeting racial slurs, and a young black girl writing about why non-whites don’t care  about the Boston marathon bombing.

I’m going to make this one quick and dirty for a number of reasons. First and foremost, I’m entertaining a much younger man tonight, and I have to make sure my mood and manners are in check for such a young dollop of fresh- man-pudding. Second of all, I think most of my readers know exactly where I’m coming from and don’t need a lecture, but rather a few smiles and nods.

You may not know that I live in one of Canada’s most culturally diverse regions. When I go out for dinner, I can’t swing a cat without hitting a restaurant that doesn’t serve up something delicious from other parts of the world. As a white, English-speaking person, I am also a minority.

Of late, I have been exposed to different religious and cultural groups trying to change our Canadian political landscape to represent the one from which they fled….to Canada. Think about that.  Sounds like a great idea to me, turning the land you fled to into one you will need to flee from again. Perfect.

Second of all, what the hell are we doing to attract immigrants in Canada? I have had the privilege of meeting professionals from around the world. Doctors, Engineers, Lawyers. You know where I’ve met them? At the gas station, driving cabs, volunteering and getting paid squat, so that they can gain ‘Canadian’ experience.

Here’s a thought. How about in order to land in the country, we make sure their qualifications are rip-ready-to-go, and let them begin achieving their professional dreams as soon as they set foot on Canadian soil? I’m sure this would stunt the impact of adjusting, decrease the incidence of depression, drug and alcohol abuse, domestic violence and other not so lovely symptoms of being mislead into a life of menial labour and poverty. Just sayin’.

Our country was built on SECULAR politics. Our laws are SECULAR laws. Just FYI, this allows everyone the right to a spirituality and religion that satisfies their own human spirit.  Making our laws religious based will throw us into a turbulent, emotional sess pool of war and violence. Again, why come here if you just want to make it like the place you felt you couldn’t thrive?

To the young girl who calls the marathon a ‘white’ sport, you should check the international attendance record. Who won this year? Lelisa Desisa, a black man from Ethiopia. I would encourage this writer to pay attention to the facts. The marathon is a sport that is dominated by…drum roll please…blacks.  More importantly, it is an event that has always crossed cultural, religious and political boundaries to celebrate human strength and, peace.

For the white, bleeding heart readers who read that piece and feel guilty. Give me a break! Think about what you read for heaven’s sake darlings. Reading does not make you intelligent, questioning what you read does.

To the Muslim extremist quoted as saying our Canadian Criminal Code is not a holy book. Your’re right. Thanks be to whomever you send your prayers. It’s  the law, and as poorly interpreted as it can sometimes be,  it protects us all.

My message here is for all of us to pull our heads out of the politically correct pie-in-the-Canadian-sky. Fix our immigration problems. We have lots of folks happy to have any job, let alone flooding our cities with foreign trained professionals who have their hands tied to do any meaningful work related to their profession.

For those who think it’s ok to hate anyone, white, black, brown, yellow, red, pink, slightly off-beige, or any other shade of the racial rainbow, you’re idiots.

This may sound crudely simple, but  here’s my ANDSHELAUGHS advice; be kind to one another.

6 thoughts on “Proud to Be Canadian

  1. Love love love you. Was watching Prince Philip at Queen’s Park this morning and was never more proud to be a Canadian. I heard the announcer say that all immigrants should be advised to watch the parade and maybe then they would know where Canada’s roots come from and why we are proud Canadians.I I wrote my 2 cents worth about being a Canadian on the Big Brother site. How about a Big Sister show. The men would not last. more than a week with Canadian women.

    As for younger men. Someone introduced time to a young guy at least 40 years younger than me yesterday and I told him I have my standards – had one 25 years younger for ten years – and yesterday the young man said “Oh I am sure we could work something out.” I was so shocked I ran like hell. Takes a lot to embarrass me. Oh those Greek men…..

    I am now off to email your post to everyone including my overseas friends.

Leave a Reply

