Fabulous Friends & Yummy Menfolk

1934 - Party On The Roof - Part 1

1934 – Party On The Roof – Part 1 (Photo credit: clotho98)

Have you ever had one of those relationships that make you feel relieved when that certain someone finally walks out the door?

It doesn’t have to be a man my lovelies, I’m talking about friends.

My sweethearts, if you’re still putting up with a lover who leaves you feeling exhausted, and not in the delicious-oh-my-goodness-I-can’t-sit-down way we all deserve, then you need to snap out of it.

But I digress….

I had a full weekend of socializing, and catching up with friends who leave me feeling refreshed, smiling, and spiritually buoyed knowing that, although I don’t ‘have-it-all’ by the Bank of Canada’s standard, I do have-it-all when it comes to friends.

None of us will retire wealthy or famous (well, maybe I will, but you know what I’m getting at darlings…). You don’t need a lot of money to be blissfully happy, well-fed, well-hydrated, or well-informed.

My weekends involve a lot of art, a lot of literature, much creativity and enough stimulating company and wine to keep me motivated the other five days of the week.

As is the case with most writers, I like time to myself. Time to daydream, create and observe. But this weekend, I packed in more social time than I’ve had lately.

Following a lovely day at the art gallery, taking in the Revealing the Early Rennaisance exhibit, a relaxing glass of wine, and lovely lunch hosted by my pals,  I waved good-bye to my friend’s husband.

After over 30 years together, she still refers to him as, ‘The Animal’. Yes, my delightfully sassy stalks of rhubarb, my pals only settle for the best lovers.

Anyway, The Animal waved goodbye, and I thought to myself, “I’m so lucky to have such wonderful friends.”

Later that day I saw a pal whom I haven’t seen in over 13 years. Why did we meet again? We’ve come together as a group to support another friend of mine. She’s stocking her new home following a heartbreaking marriage split.

Later still, I celebrated a birthday, and earth hour with more friends in a beautifully candlelit room with yummy treats, more wine, and good company. Oh, and a real cutie-patootie-fair-haired slice of man pie, who appeared just as I was leaving. Dee-lish!

This morning I met my wonderful mumster for coffee and a wander at a country craft show, and finally made it home to nest.

Although it was a whirlwind weekend, I enjoyed all of the company I shared. These are the best days of my life.

My heart bursts with gladness at our sharing of one another’s lives; in sickness and in health, for richer for poorer. This is the heart of friendship.

Thank you all so much for your amazing friendship that makes everything ok.

 

 

Leave a Reply

