The Amazing C and her Memory

“Humor is the great thing, the saving thing. The minute it crops up, all our irritation and resentments slip away, and a sunny spirit takes their place.”~Mark Twain~

“Humor is the great thing, the saving thing. The minute it crops up, all our irritation and resentments slip away, and a sunny spirit takes their place.”
~Mark Twain~

The Amazing C strikes again!

After a long day at work I picked up the mail to find two magazines which I know I won’t read this weekend, and personal letter.

Although there was no handwritten, return address marked on the envelope, I knew from the writing it was from The Amazing C.

” I can’t remember what’s in this!” was scrawled in her big, bold, expressive (and kinda sloppy) handwriting across the back.

We often fill envelopes with letters and treats, and then set them aside to be mailed to one another months later.

I ripped open the envelope to find a photograph of me that was taken over 9 years ago.

We were at a cottage, and I’m acting like a doofus ( a refined, gin-sipping doofus) with glow in the dark bracelets shaped around my head like a pair of pink glasses, and a giant glow-in-the-dark-glow-circle a la Mr. Bill style in my mouth. Classic.

If I recall correctly, and I know that I do, we tried skinny dipping. It wasn’t until we ran out into the freezing, artesian well-fed lake (naked as the day we were born) that we discovered the water only came up to our knees. Oops.

Where did that goofy version of my fabulous self go? Money was tighter, my self-confidence was smaller, and my life in general was an exercise of flying by the seat of my stubborn and scared pants.

I’m a great believer in self-care; physical, emotional and spiritual. During the past month I’ve had massage therapy, reiki treatments, therapeutic touch, healing waters, prayer, and meditation.

When I looked at that photo today it reminded me that nothing is as holistically healing as laughter and silliness. They are the vehicles of joy.

The best place to go for a laugh is always anywhere that your friends are!

I can always count on the Amazing C to make me smile, and I can only hope she feels the same way about me.

2 thoughts on “The Amazing C and her Memory

Leave a Reply

