What’s New Valentine?

"I feel like Zsa Zsa Gabor's eighth husband on her wedding night: I know what I'm supposed to do...I just have to figure out a way to make it interesting."~Unkown~

“I feel like Zsa Zsa Gabor’s eighth husband on her wedding night: I know what I’m supposed to do…I just have to figure out a way to make it interesting.”
~Unkown~

Last night I went to a Valentine’s day party. The dress code was, you guessed it; wear red.

There is some comfort in tradition. Red and green for Christmas. Blue and white for Hanukkah. Green, gold and  black for St. Pat’s.

I’m skipping  Easter darlings, because it’s such a depressing holiday, and I don’t look good in pastels.

Often, and at a certain stage of life, we break away from our traditions as the relationships in our lives ebb and flow.

What better holiday than Valentine’s Day, the penultimate synthetic holiday, to spice it up a bit and add a little je ne sais quoi.

I’m not saying install bedroom hardware and go full tilt into zippered leather my little sweet peas. I’m saying throw something new in there. Spice it up. Experience something new with your tender love muffin this February 14th.

Friday night was dinner and a movie night, and we decided to see Stand Up Guys. With a cast like Al Pacino, Christopher Walken (my secret geriatric boyfriend), and Alan Arkin, it was bound to be a great movie. But it wasn’t.

Sure, there were a few laughs, and the three men have acting chops like few others, but that’s because they’ve been around since the dawn of time.

We’ve seen a slew of recent films that feature boomer actors whom are not “going gently into that good night, (thank you for that classic, often misquoted line Mr. Thomas).  We have a creative log jam right now. Established artists  keep pulling big dollars from the pockets of creative consumers, but are they still a sure thing when it comes to entertaining us?

Personally I’m a bit tired of hearing the same, indulgent reminiscent swan song.

So, for Valentine’s day, I’m offering up a suggestion. Invest your entertainment dollars in something new. Go see a new band. buy a book  of love poetry from a relatively unknown writer, or go see art at a small gallery promoting local artists. Make it a date.

My bet is that you’ll find something new to add to your menagerie  of things that make you smile. You’ll escape broody nostalgia and open your spirit to new, creative energy. Taking in new experiences, giving young artists an opportunity to strut their fabulous stuff, benefits everyone.

Experiencing the work of new writers, musicians, actors and dancers keeps you young at heart, and opens your mind to new ideas and curiosities. I promise you my hot , little, sweet potato pies, it will make you radiate joy. There’s nothing more sexy than that.

A Few Local GTA Resources for your consideration;

1) Wonderworks – a great source for spirituality and energy healing modalities, also has a gallery space

2) Howl Radio Show with Nik Beat –  89.5 FM, a GTA source for up and coming artists, musicians and writers.

3) Art Gallery of Ontario – I know, kind of a classic, but the exhibits on the fourth and fifth floors offer modern exhibits that make you go, Hmm?

4) Come As You Are – for those needing a friendly space to explore new options in the boudoir.

What could be better than making new memories with your best friend and lover?….after all, what have you got to lose?

4 thoughts on “What’s New Valentine?

  1. You left out one of my favourite colour combinations for a particular holiday. I like to wear Red & White for Canada Day. I usually get a ton of people at work to do this just before the holiday so I celebrate twice.

  2. I haven’t got any particular plans to see anything on Valentine’s, but my other half is taking me to check out a new restaurant in town! I checked out this post mostly because of the beautiful crazy roses and enjoyed it when I was here 😀

Leave a Reply

