The Joy of Lost Friendship Found

” Confidence is the sexiest thing a woman can have.
It’s much sexier than any body part.”
~Aimee Mullins~

Years ago, on a hot bus in Venezuela, I met a kindred spirit.

Not only did she share my own crisp sense of humour and unique way of filtering the world, she was warm, kind and lovable.

Many relationships, diets, and travels later, the ties that bind had become tattered and weak. Like so many women, we got lost in the realities of day-to-day living; raising chldren, men, and havoc of paying the bills. 

The effort to reach out becomes burdensome when we’re caught up in our day-to-day routines, but my friend did reach out,and I’m ever so thankful….because after all, she’s tremendously delightful. 

Finally, we met again after almost two years of absolutely no contact. We laughed reminiscing, giggled and conjured the mischief that we were so good at in years past.

With true friends, time is but a whisper, and conversation picks up naturally from where it left off.  My friend and I may have a few more battle scars, but the element of fabulous has just aged like a very fine wine.  Friendship is a tonic that can renew our spirit, remind us to keep dreaming, and of just how outrageously wonderful we really are.

Whenever I’ve been out and getting up to no good, I assume this friend’s first name, smile demurely, and let myself carry on like I’m at Gatsby’s on a summer evening. I’ve really missed her.

No matter how gruelling the journey, true friends always come home.  I hope that this season of magic and light brings you the happiness of rekindled friendship.

One thought on “The Joy of Lost Friendship Found

Leave a Reply

