Silly Things I’m Thankful For

“A woman has got to love a bad man once or twice in her life, to be thankful for a good one”
~ Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings ~

Each year at Thanksgiving, it has been a tradition at my table, that everyone reveal one thing that they are deeply thankful for. This year however, there will be no gathering around my table. This weekend I will be gathering around many other tables to share sumptuous food and wine.

I may not have the opportunity to share what I am deeply grateful for in the tradition that is held up under my roof. Instead, I will share with you, my marvelous readers, 10 Silly things that I am grateful for;

1) Nutella. Simple as that. Yum. Yum. Yum. There is no talking back or relationship to negotiate, it is simply there for me in its raw, unspoiled glory.

2)Candlelight. Nothing makes 37+ years a-la-mode  look better than soft lighting.

3)Mints in small tins. They just keep things so much more tidy in one’s purse. There’s no slipping out of a paper packet.

4)Pantsuits. I’m not a style maven, and need all the help I can get. Going into my favourite shop, pointing to a suit-set already put together, and asking for my size saves me precious time. More time for gin and tonic and writing.

5)My little USB stick. It’s a resume on the go. I’m an elevator speech away from my dream job.

6)MAC eye make-up…any type of eye make-up from MAC is great – can get me through the day and into the evening without a touch up.

7)Answering machines with an ‘off’ button. Yes, I screen my calls, and yes, I turn my answering service off as much as possible. That means I get to be turned on and tuned into what is really important in the moment.

8)Big breasts. They balance my height and solid frame. Anything less would leave me looking like an awkward Amazon.

9)Insulated cups. Not brassiere cups, but the kind that keep my G&T cold and yummy.

10)Extra-fine writing pens, 0.4 or less. They just make the entire grizzly business of writing and creating so much more civilized.

Whatever type of great Canadian Thanksgiving you’re in for, remember, there’s always something to be thankful for, even if it’s just that you’re close to the liquor cabinet and have a back-up plan.

Gobble, gobble!

5 thoughts on “Silly Things I’m Thankful For

Leave a Reply

